EU to accept vaccines from Russia and China


The European Union’s plan to allow vaccinated people to travel again- with the “digital green certificate”-will leave the main decision-making power to member states, including whether to accept vaccines from Russia and China

According to the plan released on Wednesday, any EU country that allows vaccinated persons to skip travel restrictions within EU borders related to the pandemic (such as testing or self-isolation) must accept vaccination certificates from other countries “under the same conditions.” 


However, it added that this obligation only applies to COVID-19 vaccines approved by the European Union, which means that although Hungary and other EU countries have used Russia’s Sputnik V and China’s Sinopharm, these vaccines will not be included. Inside. However, the plan stated that EU countries “can decide to receive other vaccines in addition.” 

This issue shows that the European Union is walking a tightrope on this issue. Officials are trying to deal with different vaccine systems at the same time, prompting people to rejuvenate the economy, while balancing warnings: Russian and Chinese vaccines should not be granted the same status as those authorized by the European Union, lest they need to vaccinate citizens as soon as possible. 


Andrea Ammon, director of the European Center for Disease Control and Prevention, said on Tuesday how worrisome this is. There is not enough information to prove how long immunity from vaccines or previously infected viruses can last to justify granting special privileges.

The plan also raises concerns that unvaccinated travelers from external borders may face discrimination. In order to avoid this situation, Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, previously stated that the certificate should not only cover travellers’ vaccination, but also list their tests or recovery from the virus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

EU Europe

EU relaxes travel restrictions for US travelers

  Despite fears about the spread of potentially deadly coronavirus variants, the European Union has relaxed travel restrictions for Americans, marking the next step toward normalcy. The United States, along with Albania, Hong Kong, Lebanon, Macau, the Republic of Northern Macedonia, Serbia, and Taiwan, was added to a so-called “white list” of nations from which […]

Read More
EU Europe

EU: Seven countries start issuing COVID-19 Passports

Seven EU Member States have gone live with the European Union’s technological method for verifying the security elements contained in the QR codes of all EU Digital COVID Certificates, a month ahead of the deadline for implementation.   Bulgaria, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Croatia, and Poland have linked to the gateway and begun issuing the […]

Read More

What is the EU Digital Covid Certificate?

  People will be allowed to travel across European borders using a health passport starting July 1st, which will serve as verification of a person’s health condition. Here’s the latest on how to travel Europe this summer, in light of the new official agreement between all EU countries.   The Permanent Representatives Committee of the […]

Read More