EU to receive 100 million Pfizer and BioNTech vaccine doses


 BioNTech and its US partner Pfizer have announced that they would supply the European Union with an additional 100 million doses of their coronavirus vaccine this year.

The 27-nation group’s executive Commission exercised an option to buy the extra doses, raising the cumulative amount of shots to be supplied to the EU in 2021 to 600 million, according to the two firms.

The announcement gives the EU’s delayed and widely panned vaccine rollout a much-needed boost.

BioNTech‘s chief commercial officer, Sean Marett, stated that supplies of the company’s mRNA-based vaccine would cover two-thirds of the EU population this year. About 105 million shots have been delivered to the bloc’s 450 million citizens.

To have complete immunization, most vaccines need two doses. 

“As the deadly virus threatens to wreak havoc across Europe, we remain committed to working as rapidly and efficiently as possible to get this vaccine to more people,” said Albert Bourla, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Pfizer.


“We have fulfilled all of our EC supply obligations to date, and in Q2, we expect to send 250 million doses to the European Union, a fourfold improvement over the accepted quantity in Q1,” says the company. 

The European Medicines Agency has given COMIRNATY® (the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine) provisional marketing authorization to prevent coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) in people aged 16 and up. 

The human medicines committee (CHMP) of the European Medicines Agency (EMA) has concluded its thorough review of COMIRNATY®, concluding that adequate comprehensive data on the vaccine’s consistency, effectiveness, and efficacy are now available.

EU Europe

EU relaxes travel restrictions for US travelers

  Despite fears about the spread of potentially deadly coronavirus variants, the European Union has relaxed travel restrictions for Americans, marking the next step toward normalcy. The United States, along with Albania, Hong Kong, Lebanon, Macau, the Republic of Northern Macedonia, Serbia, and Taiwan, was added to a so-called “white list” of nations from which […]

Read More
Europe EU

EU: Seven countries start issuing COVID-19 Passports

Seven EU Member States have gone live with the European Union’s technological method for verifying the security elements contained in the QR codes of all EU Digital COVID Certificates, a month ahead of the deadline for implementation.   Bulgaria, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Croatia, and Poland have linked to the gateway and begun issuing the […]

Read More

What is the EU Digital Covid Certificate?

  People will be allowed to travel across European borders using a health passport starting July 1st, which will serve as verification of a person’s health condition. Here’s the latest on how to travel Europe this summer, in light of the new official agreement between all EU countries.   The Permanent Representatives Committee of the […]

Read More

Please disable your adblocker or whitelist this site!