EU: Seven countries start issuing COVID-19 Passports

Seven EU Member States have gone live with the European Union’s technological method for verifying the security elements contained in the QR codes of all EU Digital COVID Certificates, a month ahead of the deadline for implementation.


Bulgaria, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Croatia, and Poland have linked to the gateway and begun issuing the first EU COVID-19 travel certificates today, June 1, while some nations have elected to publish the document only once all features have been implemented across the country.

Start saving your ideas

According to an EU Commission news statement announcing the milestone, more nations will join the system in the next days and weeks, with 22 nations having successfully tested the gateway since May 10.

The gateway, which was put up in less than two months, will act as a verification mechanism for EU COVID-19 credentials, which the EU hopes to use to restore freedom of movement inside the union.

Stella Kyriakides, the Commissioner for Health and Food Safety, stressed the need of member states finalizing their national systems in the next weeks so that the system may be fully operational in time for the summer season.

Cheap Airline Deals 





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Europe: Housing market demand to remain high

  According to the European Central Bank (ECB), property demand is expected to remain high in the coming months, as 4.5% of households plan to buy in the near term. “Families’ decision to buy a home depends on many factors, including job and financial stability, income and wealth, their expectations of the overall level of home […]

Read More

Europe battles to Keep the Delta variant at bay

  Germany‘s health minister ramped up his call for as many people as possible to obtain the Covid-19 vaccine, despite evidence that the immunization campaign is losing momentum across Europe.   Jens Spahn made the announcement on Wednesday, as the delta variant’s expansion threatens to unleash a fresh wave of viral infections across the European […]

Read More
EU Europe

EU relaxes travel restrictions for US travelers

  Despite fears about the spread of potentially deadly coronavirus variants, the European Union has relaxed travel restrictions for Americans, marking the next step toward normalcy. The United States, along with Albania, Hong Kong, Lebanon, Macau, the Republic of Northern Macedonia, Serbia, and Taiwan, was added to a so-called “white list” of nations from which […]

Read More